Internet as Convenience?

It is too often that I find myself receiving a lengthy text message, opening it, then putting it aside to read later because my brain is not focused enough to read it in that moment. A text message?!?! I will say that is definitely embarrassing on my part. As Guy Billout says in his article Is Google Making Us Stupid?it has become increasingly more difficult to pick up a long novel, article, and apparently text message, than it used to be when we didn’t have 24/7 access to the internet. Reading on the internet requires different brain power than reading a book. It is very easy to skim over an article, get the main facts then move on. Maybe move on to a different article that I will skim over or watch a video on the same breaking news because those can be found anywhere on the internet as well.

As Is Google Making Us Stupid? states, the internet has changed the world of reading but I believe it is in a positive way. I would not consider myself an avid reader, unless it is summer time and Jodi Picoult has a new book. Otherwise, you won’t find me at the book store. So, the convenience of the internet has made a very positive impact on my life. Especially considering I am a college student. The article, Introduction Electracy states in so many words, that history repeats itself. Even the history that is thought to be gone, will return in some way shape or form. For example, the transition from print to online literature. Introduction Electracy reminds us, “Heidegger (in the mid-1930s) took Aristotle’s observation as an invitation to “begin again,” to devise a new metaphysics (a new ontology, a new classification system), different from the conceptual one created by the Greeks(6).” The Ancient Greeks created a language system, and Heidegger revised it. This is what is happening to our world today. Our culture is constantly advancing, and online media is taking over right now.

Although frightening to many, this is a positive step in the right direction. I am living and learning in the height of online media and I consider myself spoiled. I do not have to write my 12 page research papers on a typewriter, and I do not have to travel to different libraries and read an insane amount of books to obtain the research I need. This could be considered a “shortcut”, but I think it is saving my time doing unnecessary labor so I can learn more, write more papers, do more research. As a student, this is what we are going to school to do.

Leave a Reply

